Lajpat Nagar Market

This is, by far, been the most concentrated shopping trip that I have ever made. And that too at a market I’ve never been before!

I’d heard about this market through my Ravelry group, and wanted to check out the pure wool shops at the market. My experience in knitting has been only with acrylic, and I was curious. Wasn’t sure if I’d get the courage to actually knit with pure wool, but I definitely wanted to check it out!

When I got around to Gurgaon, I pinged my old friend, C. She immediately hopped onto the idea and offered to show me around. So today was the day we decided to go over to the market. We however had a time constraint as C needed to get back home before her son came back from school. Well, nothing much stands in our way when we decide to shop!

Reaching the market was relatively easy for me, being on the Delhi Metro Yellow Line. For C, she was on the Blue Line. Which meant she had to come to Rajeev Chowk, change to Yellow Line and then reach Central Secretariat. We met up here, and took the Violet Line to Lajpat Nagar.

We took a rickshaw over to the market, and from there proceeded to walk through. This was a relatively confusing place. We still found what we had to though!

C took me to this small non-descript shop which had the most amazing variety of western wear clothing. And the prices were dirt cheap too! It was a real effort on my part NOT to shop.

C's fav shop πŸ™‚

My aim was to look for wool, so once C’s shopping was done, we started to look around. We enquired at a wooled clothing shop, and the guy took us to his wool yarn store. Actually I did have the address for the yarn stores… I just forgot to get it with me! 😦

The wool store was amazing. Got some really cool multi-colored wool and some sober colors for hubby. The pure wool was costly (as expected), but had an amazing look… I will definitely be back for it some day!

hanks of lovely colors!

hanks hanging on a wire advertising the shop

undyed wool in 4-ply and mohair

Done with our shopping, we looked around some of the other stores, but it was time to get back. After taking a couple of photos, we rushed back to the Metro station. We finally parted at Central Secretariat with hugs, and promises to catch up for lunch tomorrow… at Chandni Chowk! πŸ˜€

Categories: Delhi, Rajasthan, NCR & UP | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Lajpat Nagar Market

  1. oh the joys of shopping πŸ™‚

  2. Had a blast and look forward to the next time πŸ™‚

  3. color me green (with envy!)

  4. Neena Pawar

    What’s the name of the wool shop in Lajpat Nagar

    • mindovermanasa

      there are 2 shops: Mehta Wool center and Balaji wool center

Leave a Reply

